My Frugal, Repurposed, Handmade, and Recycled Christmas Mantel

I’ve had to become very frugal over the last several years since I’ve started my own business. Before, I was the complete opposite of frugal, so this has actually been a very good learning curve for me in budgeting money. There for, I will show and tell how I decorated my mantel for Christmas this year without spending a dime! Because I paint furniture, I have a stock pile of paint, which helps. Then I raided my craft boxes AND added in my yearly decor. I still wanted something else to add, so I rummaged though the cabinets and drawers to see what household knick knacks I could repurpose. And viola! I’ve created a festive mantel and the coolest part is that it did not cost anything!

20131202-104357.jpg

Here is a Crown Royal bottle that I painted and distressed, adding a little ornament around the neck. The bronze vase is actually a lamp that I took apart, the topiary trees were red so I painted to pop a little more (the red sunk into my brick). The cream platter was originally mahogany finished….paint is amazing, it can change everything! And the little paper tree is just that….a paper tree glued to a candle stand. I used art pics with symbolism to the season.

20131202-105115.jpg

This area consist of a framed tree collage made with the same art type pics. The cream vase was originally painted in an oriental theme.

20131202-105335.jpg

The angel pics were in a pile designated for a garage sale. I saw them and figured, they are angels, the colors will coordinate and they are the perfect size since we have the TV on the mantel ….UGH!

20131202-105721.jpg

I finished with a strand of white lights…

20131202-105804.jpg

And here is my “hope” sign made from an old chopping board. It is made to match the “joy” sign on the opposite bookcase.

20131202-105951.jpg

20131202-110202.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my frugal Christmas mantel! With a little imagination, creativity, and effort…you can do so much without breaking the bank.

Leave a Reply

